## Special Greetings,

The Milpitas Historical Society held the annual election of its Board of Director at its regular meeting last week. As you all know, February traditionally is our annual dinner in which members can come together in a convivial setting, have a wonderful dinner enhanced by conversation with our friends, and perform our traditional installation of the "new" officers, a ceremony usually officiated by our Mayor.

Our last gathering for this annual event was two years ago, about 4 weeks before everything was shut down by our County Health officials as a defense against a serious pandemic. Since then, we have experienced several infectious waves of coronavirus, but most if not all of us have been fully vaccinated to safeguard our own health as well as that of our families and friends.

We offer this celebratory event on February 17th mindful of those circumstances. We have planned this event to be shorter by not having a speaker, something that usually takes about an hour. Also, we are strictly limiting participation to the first forty reservations that we receive; in the past this has gone as high as fifty-five. There are no exceptions to this limitation.

We believe that these precautions combined with the membership's vaccination efforts will keep us safe from the virus. Our Christmas Party was wonderful and resulted in no infections. Current County Health mandates require wearing a mask when gathering indoors. We and the restaurant, Giorgio's, will observe whatever requirements that apply at the time of the event. If public health developments require cancellation of our event, the Treasurer will promptly return your reservation payments. However, it is likely that conditions will have returned to a more normal state by then.

So, if there is an opening in your schedule, and if you are comfortable with our precautions, then please join us the evening of February 17th at our traditional annual dinner meeting. The details of the event are described in the attached annual dinner meeting.

The Event Committee
Bill Hare, Harriett McGuire, Carolyn Tiernan, & Joseph Ehardt